Tags: ,


Notable Replies

  1. Hello Abey

    VTP updates are sent out trunk ports regardless of which VLANs are configured on the switches themselves. It doesn’t matter what VLANs are configured on them. So if you have two switches, one VTP server and one VTP client that are not directly connected that have the same VTP domain, version and password, in order for them to sync up their VLAN information, the intermediate switch(es) must either be transparent OR have the same VTP config. VTP is not affected by the initial VLAN configuration of the switches, either intermediate or not, either transparent or not.

    If you’re not using VTP, then you have to manually create all the VLANs that all the switches will use to communication in each switch on the network.

    I hope this has been helpful!

    Laz

  2. Hi Laz,

    Thank you very much for your explanation. That is quite good.

    Regards,
    Abc

  3. Hello Michael

    The answer to your question (unfortunately) is yes. If you have a client IN THE SAME DOMAIN with the SAME PASSWORD that has a higher revision number, the servers will all revert to the highest revision number. Just like Rene said, because a VTP server is also a client, it will be updated by any device with a higher revision number.

    Having said that, if one is careful (with the appropriate domain names and passwords) VTP can be very useful. Just be careful.

    Concerning the domain names, if a client does not have a domain name set, then it will automatically adopt the domain name of the extant VTP server (if one exists). If the client has already been configured with a domain name and it is different than that of the server, you can manually change the domain name so it matches. Once that’s done (and passwords match as well, if any) then propagation will take place.

    I hope this has been helpful!

    Laz

  4. Thanks much Rene.

    The following is good to know. Thinking back on a failure in my environment the likely cause was because of this.

    “A VTP client can overwrite a VTP server if the revision number is higher because a VTP server is also a VTP client”

    But below indicate this is now fixed in VTP version 3.

    “VTP primary server: only the primary server is able to create / modify / delete VLANs. This is a great change as you can no longer “accidently” wipe all VLANs like you could with VTP version 1 or 2.”

    Rohan

Continue the discussion forum.networklessons.com

70 more replies!

Participants