We're Sorry, Full Content Access is for Members Only...

If you like to keep on reading, Become a Member Now! Here is Why:

  • Learn any CCNA, CCNP and CCIE R&S Topic. Explained As Simple As Possible.
  • Try for Just $1. The Best Dollar You've Ever Spent on Your Cisco Career!
  • Full Access to our 638 Lessons. More Lessons Added Every Week!
  • Content created by Rene Molenaar (CCIE #41726)

 

365 New Members signed up the last 30 days!

satisfaction-guaranteed

100% Satisfaction Guaranteed!
You may cancel your monthly membership at any time.
No Questions Asked!

Tags: ,


Forum Replies

  1. Hello Abey

    VTP updates are sent out trunk ports regardless of which VLANs are configured on the switches themselves. It doesn’t matter what VLANs are configured on them. So if you have two switches, one VTP server and one VTP client that are not directly connected that have the same VTP domain, version and password, in order for them to sync up their VLAN information, the intermediate switch(es) must either be transparent OR have the same VTP config. VTP is not affected by the initial VLAN configuration of the switches, either intermediate or not, either tra

    ... Continue reading in our forum

  2. Hi Laz,

    Thank you very much for your explanation. That is quite good.

    Regards,
    Abc

  3. Hello Michael

    The answer to your question (unfortunately) is yes. If you have a client IN THE SAME DOMAIN with the SAME PASSWORD that has a higher revision number, the servers will all revert to the highest revision number. Just like Rene said, because a VTP server is also a client, it will be updated by any device with a higher revision number.

    Having said that, if one is careful (with the appropriate domain names and passwords) VTP can be very useful. Just be careful.

    Concerning the domain names, if a client does not have a domain name set, then it will a

    ... Continue reading in our forum

  4. Thanks much Rene.

    The following is good to know. Thinking back on a failure in my environment the likely cause was because of this.

    “A VTP client can overwrite a VTP server if the revision number is higher because a VTP server is also a VTP client”

    But below indicate this is now fixed in VTP version 3.

    “VTP primary server: only the primary server is able to create / modify / delete VLANs. This is a great change as you can no longer “accidently” wipe all VLANs like you could with VTP version 1 or 2.”

    Rohan

65 more replies! Ask a question or join the discussion by visiting our Community Forum